Sunday, November 30, 2014

Uduaghan, Ibori, tighten grip in Delta following Assembly primaries

james ibori
Former political appointees as well as loyalists of Delta State Governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan and the daughter of former governor, James Ibori, Saturday clinched the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) tickets in their various constituencies at the PDP primaries for the 2015 House of Assembly elections in Delta.
The exercise took off late following the late arrival of INEC officials and materials, while there were credible allegations that results of the elections were not recorded on official result sheets in order to leave room for substitution of winners.
In Isoko South Constituency I, former Commissioner in charge of Special Duties (Infrastructure), Barr (Mrs) Oreze Esievo emerged winner in a very tight race. Deputy Chief Whip of the Delta Assembly, Johnson Erijo who represents Isoko South Constituency II was returned unopposed. In Isoko North Constituency, incumbent member of the State House of Assembly, Tim Owhefere emerged winner.
In Aniocha North State Constituency, Uzomah Idabor won the ticket, while Angela Nwaka won in Aniocha South. Isaac Ulebor won in Ika South, while Tony Elekeokwuri won in Ika North East.
In Ughelli South, Reuben Izeze, another Uduaghan political aide in charge of protocol won the election, while in Ughelli North Constituency, Prince Eric Oharisi won.
Dennis Omovie, representing Warri South Constituency II defeated seven other strong contenders to emerge victorious in that race, while in Warri South Constituency I, incumbent House member, Omawumi Udoh lost to another Uduaghan aide, Godwin Toristseju Abigor.
Incumbent Commissioner on the board of DESOPADEC, Hon Michael Diden (aka Ejele) clinched the ticket in Warri North Constituency.
Though the exercise in Uvwie recorded protests following the sudden change of the venue of the primary, the incumbent House member, Efe Ofobruku won the contest after eight others were said to have step-down for him. However one of the candidate, Ovo Agbaja who claimed he was not aware of the change of venue said he would challenge the result. Incumbent House member, Keston Okoro representing Udu Constituency lost to a former commissioner in the state, Moses Odibo in a keenly contested primary.
In Ethiope West Constituency, Ms. Erhiatake Ibori, the first daughter of Chief James Ibori, won the primary. Incumbent House member representing Ndokwa East, Friday Osanebe won the ticket while Azuka Azaka got the ticket in Ndokwa West just as incumbent member of the House representing Ukwuani, Adolphous Ojo also won.
In Oshimili South, incumbent Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Peter Onwasanya won the primary. Results from Burutu, Bomadi and Warri South West are still being expected.

No comments:

Post a Comment